The Seychelles Islands

The Seychelles Islands cover 115 outer and inner islands. The granite Inner Islands of the total length of approx. 1,800 km are mostly situated on the Seychelles-Madagascar Plateau, about 4° south of the equator. Unlike the Inner Islands, the Outer Islands are mostly located outside the Plateau, about 10° south of the equator. Of the total 115 islands, 43 form the Inner Islands (41 granite islands and two coral islands) and 72 the coral Outer Islands. 

  • Seychelles, Mahe Island
  • Seychelles, La Digue Island
  • Seychelles, Bird Island
  • Seychelles, Denis Island
  • Seychelles, Albarda Atoll
  • Seychelles, Aride Island
  • Seychelles, Couisne Island
  • Seychelles, Desroches Island
  • Seychelles, Fregate Island
  • Seychelles, Praslin Island


The granite Inner Islands cover the main and the largest island of the archipelago, MAHÉ, on which the capital of the Seychelles, Victoria, is located. They also include the second largest island of the Seychelles archipelago, PRASLIN, and LA DIGUE, the most photographed of all the Seychelles Islands. 

The above three islands represent an economic, cultural and tourist centre of the archipelago.  It is these islands that cover the most of the accommodation capacities for tourists and Seychelles visitors.

Seychelles islands providing accommodation:

  • Main islands:  Mahé, Praslin, La Digue
  • Other islands:  Bird Island, Cerf, Chauve Souris, Cousine, Denis Island, Frégate, North Island, Round Island (Praslin), Silhouette, St. Anne 


Seychelles Islands without accommodation:

  • Anonyme, Aride, Conception, Cousin, Curieuse, Félicité, Grande Soeur, Ile Cocos , Long Island, Moyenne, Petite Soeur, Round Island, St. Pierre



As they are quite distant from the tourist centres, the Outer Islands are less frequently visited. Thus, thanks to their untouched nature, there are many different species of wild animals living there.

There are only two of all the Outer Islands that offer accommodation services, namely ALPHONSE and DESROCHES. These islands offer luxurious villas and one-of-the-kind places for yachting, fishing and diving.

There are five different groups of the Seychelles Outer Islands:  Amirantes, Southern Coral, Alphonse, Farquhar and Aldabra;

  • Aldabra Group - Aldabra Atoll, Assumption, Astove, Cosmoledo Atoll;
  • Amirantes Group -  African Banks, D'Arros, Desroches, Poivre Atoll, Remire, St. Joseph Atoll;
  • Southern Coral Group – Coëtivy, Platte;
  • Alphonse Group – Alphonse, Bijoutier, St François;
  • Farquhar Group - Farquhar Atoll, Providence Atoll;